Half Square Triagles ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Half Square Triagles ?

Hello - I am very new to quilting but am learning so much from Jenny's tutorials! I can't wait for Thursday nights! I am a little confused by one thing. I think I am seeing half square triangles done two different ways. One is where you sew all the way around the perimeter and the cut an X basically. And the other is where you mark a line diagonally in the center and then sew a1/4 inch on either side then cut down the center. What is the difference between the two methods? When would you use one over the other? Thanks in advance!

Re: Half Square Triagles ?

Good question and I am not sure what the difference is. I will be watching this post.
    Blessed are the children of the piecemakers for they shall inherit the quilts!

Comment

Originally posted by Nfattu View Post
      Hello - I am very new to quilting but am learning so much from Jenny's tutorials! I can't wait for Thursday nights! I am a little confused by one thing. I think I am seeing half square triangles done two different ways. One is where you sew all the way around the perimeter and the cut an X basically. And the other is where you mark a line diagonally in the center and then sew a1/4 inch on either side then cut down the center. What is the difference between the two methods? When would you use one over the other? Thanks in advance!
      Jenny uses the sew around and cut in an X method to make 4 HST's

The other method you mark the diagonal, sewing 1/4 inch on each side, and then also across the middle... creates 8 HST's.

If you mark the diagonal and sew on either side and cut it, you create 2 HST's.

It just depends on the size and number you need. I like the last method when using Charms because I don't have to deal with such small Hst's. I like the second if I need more than four for a block. And I like the first method, when using Layer Cakes for BIG blocks.