Decorative stitches - Part 2 Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Decorative stitches - Part 2 Questions

So... Let's say I decide to use my fancy decorative stitches on the top quilt squares only.

Some of them do use a lot of thread, and I wondered if they could potentially have enough impact on the squares to change the size and make the various squares uneven in size. Does this question make sense?

If the decorative stitches prove to be too cumbersome for layers and I want to apply them to just certain top squares - could that throw things off? Sorry I am very new to sewing!

Re: Decorative stitches - Part 2 Questions

This is Not a dumb question and it does make sense. I've never tried it, but will be interested to see what "sewing gurus" say. I have used the decorative stitches for the borders. The one thing I learned was to use my walking foot, keeps things moving together. I'll be watching for answers.

Comment

There is a wonderful project out there done by "The Hoop Sisters" that is done on embroidery machines (sorry, can't actually be replicated on a domestic machine, or even one with a multitude of decorative stitches). It is VERY stitch intensive and is made to be done through several layers of fabric, the batting, and backing. I say this because it is designed specifically to hold the fabrics together and does not change the size of the blocks in doing the stitch out.

Since embroidery machines typically stitch out with the fabric pieces locked into a frame that is held on the embroidery machine, I would think that if you were to layer your fabrics in an embroidery hoop (thinking the old fashioned wooden ones that you tighten with a screw) you could prevent any distortion of your block.