Self-binding quilt SOS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Self-binding quilt SOS

I have some experience quilting but still think of myself as newbie. I have a top pieced and it is ready to be quilted and I want to do self-binding. My question is (probably a really dumb one but please bear with me) is do I quilt the top before or after turning the backing fabric to make the binding? This quilt is a gift for someone and I really do need your help. So any help/suggestions will be so greatly appreciated.
    sigpic
    Teach me your ways, Lord. Help me control
    my tongue and speak words of kindness that
    encourage and build others up.

Re: Self-binding quilt SOS

I've only done one self binding quilt. I quilted it first and trimmed the backing to bind it.
    Carrie

I cut it twice and it was still too short!

Comment

If you are wanting the back to have quilting, then you are going to have to turn it before you quilt it.
      Walk in peace with the Lord by your side.
      Terry

Comment

Here is a good thread on it last year using batting and quilting.

http://forum.missouriquiltco.com/sho...inding+blanket
        🌺 Lorie

Comment

I think there may be some confusion on what you mean by self binding. Jenny does a self binding baby quilt which is the thread Lorie has above. Is that what you are talking about or are you talking about folding some of the backing over and making a normal looking binding. I suspect that may be what you are talking about. If so, then do the quilting first BUT there is one caveat. If you normally quilt off the top into the batting, you can't do that or you will not be able to trim up the batting and fold the back into a binding (ask me how I know!!). So be sure your quilting stops before you go off the top. Hope that makes sense.
          Debbie

Comment

Originally posted by Spiff View Post