Tee shirt quilt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tee shirt quilt

I've been asked by a friend if I would make a tee shirt quilt for her daughter. I've never done one before and not sure how to work with the tee shirts. Seems they would have alot of stretch to them.
    Looking for advice from those of you who have made one, then will decide if it's something I really want to tackle.
    If you could choose to be anything choose kindness.

Visit my Flickr page, sewing and cakes!
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/

www.pinterest.com/cathyfiebe/boards

Re: Tee shirt quilt

cut the whole front of the tee out. cut off sleeves and neck facing. then get some featherweight interfacing. I like a non woven because the tee is stretchy . Then iron a piece of interfacing to the wrong side of tee. then get a square and place over the design centering it. Cut out. Now you have an interfaced block, and you can treat it the same as any block. Just make sure you get a FEATHERWEIGHT interfacing
    Dolores :lol::icon_heh:

Comment

Originally posted by Doloris View Post
      cut the whole front of the tee out. cut off sleeves and neck facing. then get some featherweight interfacing. I like a non woven because the tee is stretchy . Then iron a piece of interfacing to the wrong side of tee. then get a square and place over the design centering it. Cut out. Now you have an interfaced block, and you can treat it the same as any block. Just make sure you get a FEATHERWEIGHT interfacing
      Thanks Dolores! I wasn't sure what to back the tee's with.

Comment

I used french fuse interfacing. It's really lightweight and won't stiffen your quilt at all. But it gives you the stabilization you need for the tshirt blocks.

Do as Delores said, iron on the interfacing and then cut the block. Otherwise you'll be fighting curly edges.