Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help! Seams opened after washing!

Hello all,

I've been quilting for about 16 years, and I've never had this problem. Yesterday, I finished a baby quilt and then washed it. When I went to fold it and put it in the gift bag, I noticed that several of the seams had opened. This was an extremely fussy pattern with very small sashing strips. I pinned everything, and I am very careful when I press my seams. Is there any way to fix this easily?

Thanks in advance!

Re: Help! Seams opened after washing!

A couple of suggestions are - can you blindstitch the seams back together by hand? or you could do an applique over the open seam area.
    Wendy
    http://www.pinterest.com/wlrich2/boards/

Comment

This is so sad! I fear there is no easy fix. You can hand sew the seams back together if the fabric still has some integrity, or you can use raw edge appliqué over the torn seams. Depending on the quilting pattern, you might be able to secure the loose seams by using fusible web under the seams and ironing them. I would be afraid that the quilt wouldn't hold up to washing in the future if this happened on the first wash. It is a shame your work was ruined in this way. Good luck!

Comment

Depending on your quilting method, lets say FMQ, perhaps you could go back over the whole quilt with heavy quilting and secure the seams that way.
        Walk in peace with the Lord by your side.
        Terry

Comment

A variation might be to use a decorative stitch and cover all the seams in the quilt. It would be kind of like a second quilting of, say, hearts or snowflakes, that cover up all your seams.
          Toni ... If I keep sewing long enough, will they make their own dinner?

Comment

Thanks everyone! I'm leaning towards going over every seam with a decorative stitch. It's going to take forever and use a lot of thread. I love the applique idea, but I'm afraid that more seams will open.IMG_1540.jpg

Comment