Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Quilting with Flannel - Prewash?

Hello,

My name is Nikki and I am new to this board. I am also relatively new to quilting having only completed two quilts so far. The other day I found the most adorable flannel squares in a store and decided to quilt a baby blanket for my colleague who is expecting.
    When I bought the backing today, the lady at the store told me to make sure to prewash the flannel since it shrinks quite a lot. However, the squares came with a tag that says "Don't prewash". So now I am a little bit confused as to what I should do, since I have never worked with flannel before.
    I am a little worried that if I prewash the squares they will shrink and change shape. Doesn't that defeat the purpose of buying precut squares? I am also a little bit worried that if I only wash the flannel backing but not the squares for the front of the quilt, the quilt will shirnk quite unevenly once it gets washed for the first time.
    Do you have any advice for me?

Thanks in advance!

Re: Quilting with Flannel - Prewash?

I would not pre-wash either of them personally. I really only pre-wash when I'm concerned if the backing colour will run a lot. There's some shrinkage but it's not bad.

Terri

Comment

Was she telling you to prewash the flannel backing? Did she know you got flannel squares earlier?

Here's what I think, for what it's worth. If you were using flannel backing on regular quilter's cotton, I would say to wash it first. But since you are using it with flannel, which will shrink a little, too, at least it all will shrink about the same when you wash it after completion. The batting will most likely shrink, too. I know the Warm & Natural or Warm & White does.
      I don't think you would want to prewash the squares (certainly not in the washer). You would end up tearing your hair out trying to iron them straight afterwards.