Rotary cutter sharpening?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rotary cutter sharpening?

New quilter here. I have an Olfa rotary cutter that I have actually had for years, but for which I recently bought a new blade. I am using an Olfa self-healing mat. We have become good friends.

My question is, how often do you change YOUR blade? I saw another thread about blades getting dull, and I can identify with the nicking of the blade on my ruler issue. I'm still learning, but am getting more confident as I go. I started using a lot of precuts, and am now branching out.

I would just like an idea of how long I can expect my blade to last. Also, are the rotary blade sharpeners a good idea or no?

Re: Rotary cutter sharpening?

there have been a lot of threads this year about sharpening blades and the general concensus was that its not really a good idea. I used a ruler with a sharpening edge and it made deep cuts in my self healing mat. The blades are pretty cheap in comparison to the cost of a new mat.
    Walk in peace with the Lord by your side.
    Terry

Comment

I tried one, Dritz, and didn't think it worked that well. I'll have to pay attention more to how long one lasts.

Just wanted to welcome you to the forum!
      🌺 Lorie

Comment

Thanks for the welcome! Just saying that you don't know how long your blade has lasted tells me a lot.

Comment

I am terrible when it comes to changing my blade. But I'm trying to get better.

Basically I can stand when my blade skips a spot. When it starts skipping a second spot I will change it.

There might be a rule of thumb out there somewhere (change every six months, change every other project) but I don't know about it. I know you are supposed to change sewing needles every 8 hours of use, but I don't do that. I just listen for a popping sound. And I do the same for my rotary blades - I just wait until it bothers me.

Comment