new to quilting. confused on terms.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

new to quilting. confused on terms.

Hi, I am new to quilting. Have been doing my homework and understand ( sort of) the terms of Jelly rolls, layer cakes, fat quarters etc. However, what is a junior jelly roll? I understand that it is less fabric however, when comparing the full jelly roll to junior what does that mean in size? Baby quilt vs lap quilt? Thanks.

Re: new to quilting. confused on terms.

A full jelly roll has 42 strips. A jr. about 21. A jelly roll is just under 3 yd of fabric. You'll need two plus background fabric to make a good size quilt. A Jr. for what its worth would probably just be to give you some variety. I've never bought one. A layer cake is 4 charm packs but they are not cut up. A layer cake is about the same yardage as a jelly roll. A charm pack is about 3/4 a yd of material. This will help you if you are trying to price out a quilt based on yardage. Eventhough you are paying premium for the yardage in precuts, you don't have to spend the labor cutting and it make s it really easy. And faster. It takes me a good full day to cut a quilt from yardage.
    success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiam
    Terry of NC

Comment

Jelly roll is 40 strips and a junior is 20. Jelly roll is alos a trademark of Moda, other manufacturers call them roly poly, strips, and some other names I can't think of right now.
      K is for Karen 😊​ Albuquerque, NM..................
      Cremation - My last hope for a smokin' hot body.

Before you speak,
      T - is it TRUE?
      H - is it HELPFUL?
      I - is it INSPIRING?
      N - is it NECESSARY?
      K - is it KIND?

Comment

Fat Quarter - 18" x 22" rectangle of fabric (yields 1/4 yard in a more useable piece than 9" x 42");

Charm Squares- 5" pre-cut squares usually in a collection of 40+ coordinating fabrics; total average yardage yield is approximately 1 1/8 yards