Quilt as a bedspread or shams?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Quilt as a bedspread or shams?

Hi all. I'm still new to the quilting thing so please excuse all my questions. What I would like to know is, when quilters make quilts , do they make them as bedspreads? Or just a covering with no thought as to covering the pillow.
    As some of you may know, I am making a quilt for my 13 yr old great nephew. It will be a twin size XL. I've completed the blocks, but now I'm wondering, do I make a sham? Or a bedspread or just the quilt itself? This is my first full size quilt so I am not sure what to do.... What would you do?

Re: Quilt as a bedspread or shams?

I made a quilt for a dear young lady who was headed off to college. I made it 68 x 94 and since I had a little extra fabric I made a sham for a throw pillow. She had already picked out her bedspread which I had seen so I matched the colors. There are charts on the internet that show what sizes to make if you just want a covering versus covering the pillows and drop size. Good luck!
    :icon_happy:

sigpic

Comment

It's entirely up to you. I make most of my quilts to cover the top of the bed and the sides of the mattress. I do not pull our quilts up over the pillows. Shams area nice touch if you have enough fabric. I think you would need to find out how his quilt will be used. Will it be folded at the end of the bed on top of a bedspread, or does it need to just cover the mattress or longer/wider for a spread.
      sigpicwww.whisperofrose.blogspot.com

Scottie Mom Barb

Comment

Originally posted by Saqqara View Post
        Hi all. I'm still new to the quilting thing so please excuse all my questions. What I would like to know is, when quilters make quilts , do they make them as bedspreads? Or just a covering with no thought as to covering the pillow.