I am new to quilting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I am new to quilting

and a long time quilter just donated to my stash a box of fabrics. Looking thru them I found most of the pieces are fat quarters, must be about 200+ of them. So my question is-what is your favorite fat quarter friendly quilt pattern? Also now have a large amount of homespuns which I thought would make a super mans quilt.

Re: I am new to quilting

Check out Bonnie Hunter's website. Any of her patterns would work for fat quarters.

Quiltville's Quips & Snips!!: Free Patterns!

Eleanor Burns also has a book called Quick Trip Quilts. The Quick Quarter pattern uses fat quarters. I've made several of these. The more fat quarters used the bigger the size.
    Last edited by quiltsRfun; June 9, 2016, 12:45 PM.

Comment

Fat Quarters can always be cut up into different sizes - here's an example cut-from-a-fat-quarter.jpg
      ***Kathy***

Comment

What a wonderful gift! That's a lot of fabric.

Comment

You could Google fat quarter friendly quilt patterns and see what you find.The homespuns are perfect for rag quilts.
          :icon_wave:Joan

Comment

Turning Twenty is a great pattern for Fat Quarters.

Comment

Claires-Fat-Quarter-Quilt_Large400_ID-1142873.jpg

Claire's Fat Quarter Quilt | FaveQuilts.com
              Sherri

"Don't let someone else's ugly spoil your beautiful. " Thanks, Bubby!!!!!!

Comment

The first two quilts that my daughter made were from the Turning Twenty book. Each quilt uses 20 fat quarters and it was a great way for her to learn - not just the sewing part but also about fabric choice in regards to pattern and color

Comment

Also, try your local library. I have found a wide variety of books with patterns free of charge, just check them out for 2-6 weeks. Usually long enough to get started or sometimes even complete a quilt. Good luck, great gift you received.

Comment

There are books devoted to FQ quilts -- as KarenC says, check your local library.