Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice for Machine Quilting

Hello Everyone!
    I am hoping you are willing to give some suggestions as to how to quilt this throw. I have made it in our niece's college colors and now need to decide how to quilt it. For me this is one of the hardest parts due to my lack of experience. So far I have only made simple block quilts, nothing with sashing or involved blocks. Any suggestions are appreciated, tia.

-Wendy
    Becky's Illini Quilt.jpg

Re: Advice for Machine Quilting

You know, I am pretty new to FMQ too but I found that I really enjoyed making little flowers. Find something you like to make and do that. You could just do grids which would be the fastest. And with the angles in your quilt straight line quilting would look nice.
    Walk in peace with the Lord by your side.
    Terry

Comment

I think this quilt would lend itself very well to cross hatching. It will be a lot of twisting & turning of the sandwich, but the straight line stitching would go well with this pattern & probably be easier for you as a beginner.

Comment

If this is your first time I find doing loops are easy and fast. I have done some meandering, but I find I like the loops better. Just practice on a scrap first and decide which one you like best.

Comment

Cross hatch

Sewing lines (straight, slightly wiggly, small curly q's, etc.) down and across (Leah Day has a nice tutorial on quilting with just lines running down and across a quilt)

Or tie it!
          Blessings, DramaMama

"May your bobbin always be full!"

Massdrop Refer-A-Friend link: :icon_woohoo:
          http://link.massdrop.com/54bd7c22291...of0ePjsfeAaf4b

Comment

Originally posted by JCY View Post
            I think this quilt would lend itself very well to cross hatching. It will be a lot of twisting & turning of the sandwich, but the straight line stitching would go well with this pattern & probably be easier for you as a beginner.