Why did this happen?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why did this happen?

I pinned, sprayed, stabilized each piece and yet it still didn't lay flat, the larger pieces bubbled. There is no way to fix this I can't take it apart. If I cross hatch or try to FMQ (which I am not good at yet) will they lay flat or make it look worse. Mahalo for your help
    Attached Files
    sigpicHawaiigrammi

Re: Why did this happen?

A FMQ stitch that does not cross over itself, like a stipple, will help it lie flat. A cross hatch, that crosses over itself, will make tucks and look worse.

Good luck.
    Stash Treasure Acquisitions Beyond Life Expectancy. My stash keeps me STABLE, oh yeah.... and dark chocolate.

Comment

Originally posted by DeniseSm View Post
      A FMQ stitch that does not cross over itself, like a stipple, will help it lie flat. A cross hatch, that crosses over itself, will make tucks and look worse.

Good luck.
      Yes that makes sense, but not sure why it did this darn it
      sigpicHawaiigrammi

Comment

Jenny told me the "SMALLER" the quilting, the more it lays down.

Like a small stippling will make for a flatter quilt than a large stippling. It's proven true for me a few times. The more you quilt it the flatter it will be. But, I did not see anything wrong with what you have. LOL.

Comment

I think it looks great. I would just sitd around the squares.
          sigpic

Lorie

Comment

It looks very nice, and I am sure your grandson is going to love it. Did you iron some light weight stabilizer behind each piece? I think that would help with the bubbling.
            If you are not willing to learn, no one can help you. If you are determined to learn, no one can stop you.- Zig Ziglar

Comment

Originally posted by Sylvia H View Post
              It looks very nice, and I am sure your grandson is going to love it. Did you iron some light weight stabilizer behind each piece? I think that would help with the bubbling.