Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

antique quilt top . . .

Hello everyone,
    I am very new to quilting, I have produced six quilts todate, and 4 of those have been in the last 2 years. I have just gotten my hands on a quilt top that was produced for my father when he was 18, he is now 81, but it was never quilted. It was made by his grandmother, and has great sentimental value to him.
    I want to get the quilt finished for him (he has always wanted it done, but never new anyone who could do the work), but I only have a standard home machine, not a long arm quilting machine. The quilts I have made in the past I have quilted with a walking foot with the exception of one quilt I quilted on my 1915 treadle machine. That machine is one of the rare back clamping models so I have not been able to get a walking foot or hopper foot for it (because I beleive they do not exist).
    My question is should I quilt this myself or send it off to have it machine quilted? I got one quilt done here at Missouri Star and am very pleased with the work they did, but I don't know about a family treasure like this.
    I guess I want to know if there is anyone out there who has made this choice, and what they felt about the outcome.

thanks,
    Jack

Re: antique quilt top . . .

I just dug out an antique quilt that my grandmother made with used clothing in the 30's. She taught me to quilt on this quilt and then I used it for 30 yrs. I put it away sometime in the 80's because it was falling apart and thought I would get it repaired someday when I had better skills. Well, I took it out and looked at it and all of the fabric is falling apart (I guess you would call it rotting) and I think it is hopeless. I hope yours is in good condition and that you go ahead and get it done!.
    Walk in peace with the Lord by your side.
    Terry

Comment