Newbie Binding Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie Binding Question

I am brand new to quilting. I figured out how to cut the blocks and piece together a top. Also how to sew the top, batting and back together. But I am a little confused about the binding. I watched a video on how to do it but I was wondering if I can buy pre-cut binding in a coordinating color instead of having to cut it myself? Or is this not recommended?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Sherry

Re: Newbie Binding Question

Hi Sherry, I have not used pre-cut binding but, don't see any reason why you couldn't use it for your quilt. I know you've watched Jenny's tutorials on binding but, I just want to encourage you..."You can make your own binding" you just gotta jump in there an do it!

This is my favorite binding video...1/2 yard of fabric makes 250" of binding, Whoo hoo!!!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_gJN2dyYlIQ

I'm sure others will chime in...let us know what you decide and how it worked out for ya! Have a Great day!

p.s. Congrats on your finished quilt top!
    Happy Quilting,
    Rejoice in the Lord always: and again I say, Rejoice! Philippians 4:3
    Link: Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus
    Link:I Will PRAISE Him!

Comment

Hi Sherry -
      I have used jelly roll strips for binding, I have cut my own from fabric, and I have used pre-packaged quilt binding.

The pre-packaged binding is fine, a little stiffer than a cotton strip tho. I have used the double fold and then just put the quilt edge inside the binding and sew it on. It does save time. I also cannot hand sew so it is quick and easy for me to use this kind. I prefer the larger quilt binding, but have used the 1/2 inch double fold too.

I think the prettiest binding is from a coordinating fabric.
      Mary :icon_hi:

Love is the thread that mends worn hearts.

Comment