Batting for quilts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Batting for quilts

I've been making regular blankets for awhile now and I'm just beginning to make quilts. My question: I love soft quilts and the quilt I'm making right now I plan on layering with cotton batting and a layer of high loft polyester. Is there an alternative way to do this because it can get quite expensive on a king size quilt? Thanks for any help in this. Katherine

Re: Batting for quilts

Dream Puff batting is poly and pretty high loft. Makes a very soft and chunky quilt bc the batting is so thick. Also is very warm. Why do you want to put 2 layers of batting in? To make a thicker quilt or you are trying to make something warmer? I have never heard of double batting a quilt. Hope you aren't planning on hand quilting it. Can u share more details

Comment

I asked this question a while back here : http://forum.missouriquiltco.com/qui...s-batting.html

I've decided to use 2 layers of 100% wool batting & cotton backing fabric. I haven't gotten to the quilting stage yet so can't tell you how that's going to go. I have confidence

Comment

Okay! But may I strongly suggest you make a little sample piece of all your layers and try quilting it before you put your entire quilt together. If you decide to use all that many layers, basting it is gonna be a beast. Good luck. Hope it all turns out great for you.

Comment