Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Quilting tools for a beginner?

Hello everyone,

I apologise if there is already a thread related to this somewhere but I am VERY new to quilting and I would love your input in what is the best tools for a beginner? I don't even have rulers or mats yet and before I went out and spent a bit of money on this I thought I'd ask what you guys can and can't live with out! I have a feeling this hobby is going to get expensive, lol. Also, I have a sewing machine that isn't classified as a quilters sewing machine.. would it still be okay to use it? Would I need to get a certain foot or needle?

Thanks for you help
    Visit me at my blog http://hiccupsandcandyfloss.blogspot.com/

Re: Quilting tools for a beginner?

I actually wrote a whole blog post on this last month for a friend of mine who had the same question!
    Katie's Quilting Corner - Blog, Podcast and More!
    Don't miss Free Pattern Friday posts!
    Pinterest

Comment

Wow, this looks great! I'm going to read this tonight. Thanks Katherine!
      Visit me at my blog http://hiccupsandcandyfloss.blogspot.com/

Comment

Hollie, your sewing machine will work well for most quilting. Everyone likes a walking foot if they are going to be doing machine quilting (top, batting, backing being quilted on the machine), and a 1/4 inch foot guide is very beneficial - it helps you make certain your seams are uniform. A cutting mat, rotary cutter with replacement blades, rulers - I'd recommend you start with a 6x24 inch ruler first - good quality fabric and thread. Beyond that, let your imagination control your efforts, relax and above all, HAVE FUN!!
        Sometimes, when there's a raging fire,
        it's best not to try to put it out with gasoline.

"...pal carajo con la negatividad..."

Comment