New to quilting need easy pattern

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to quilting need easy pattern

Hi I am new to quilting and bought 4 sets of charm packs in christmas patterns i need and easy idea of what to make with these i would like to make some quilts for my fellow employees Thanks

Re: New to quilting need easy pattern

I would say the dissappearing 9 patch (D9P) is a great beginner pattern. There is a tutorial here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dEjZOXxPazg
    from Jenny. I love it since it is easy yet looks great! I am a beginner too and have used 2 charm packs along with a border to make one lap quilt.
    Have fun
    Mary :icon_hi:

Love is the thread that mends worn hearts.

Comment

I love the disappearing 9 patch too, but if you watch Jenny's tutorials you will get lots of ideas. Have fun and good luck!
      Jo :icon_wave:

Comment

Hi Louise, The D9P is a wonderful beginner (and not so beginner) pattern. You could make a 5" tumbler quilt or a snowball quilt, etc. There are ever so many good tutorials on this site that are perfect for newbies. You can't go wrong with any one of them. Most of the smaller lap quilts you can do with two charm packs plus a little extra for borders and binding. Good Luck and post pictures of your results...Barb
        Last edited by Bubby; July 29, 2011, 08:11 AM. Reason: typo
        sigpicwww.whisperofrose.blogspot.com

Scottie Mom Barb

Comment

Hi Louise:

A table runner would be a nice and easy gift as well. You could use the D9P that the gals are talking about, or you could just sew up the charms as is to make 4 1/2" squares by the width you want. You could do a rectangle of 3 squares X 6 squares, add a border and it finished! A very easy quilt for a beginner.

Have fun with whatever you decide, and post pictures when finished!!!
          When life throws you scraps, make a quilt! :icon_bigsmile:

Comment