Spray Basting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Spray Basting

I am fairly new at quilting and recently saw a video on youtube about spray basting. I had never heard of it before. Does anyone have any comments (pros or cons) about spray basting. I hand quilt and wondered if it would make it difficult to push the needle through the fabric?
    Bec

Re: Spray Basting

I pretty new also and have made 2 quilts using safety pins to baste and am currently working on one that I have used the spray basting. I like the spray better than the pins. Pins tended to get in my way and I would invariably miss several as I quilted along. With the spray I use (not sure of brand but got it at Joann's) it is light weight, holds really well but does not make it any harded to push the needle through. Hope that helps.
    LESLY

:icon_wave:

Every failure brings with it the seed of an equivalent success.
    Napoleon Hill

Comment

Hi Bec. I have only been quilting about six months, and I've used the basting spray on every quilt I've made. I spent time pinning the first one, then took them all out when I saw a tutorial on the basting spray. It's great.... no worry about things shifting during quilting. There aren't any problems with hand or machine stitching. Best of luck....
      ~~ Hugs and Blessings,
      Mia

...quilters come with strings attached
      (boy aint that the darn truth !!)

Comment

Thanks for the input. I have tried quilting pins and safety pins and I always have trouble with shifting. I'm excited about trying the spray basting since it can be used with hand quilting.
        Bec

Comment