Border for my quilt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Border for my quilt

Hi, everyone. I hope someone can help me make a decision. I just finished a quilt top for a quilt I'm making for my twin sister who's getting ready to start chemo for breast cancer . I have a jelly roll of Moda white that I used for the borders between the blocks on the quilt and was wondering if it's okay to sew the jelly roll strips together for the borders. It's no problem to get the fabric cut from the bolt, but this sounds like an easier and quicker way to get the quilt done, plus the fact I'll use up my jelly roll and it won't be wasted.

I haven't been able to find anything on the web about doing this, and that makes me think it just isn't done. I'm a new quilter, so I've never tried it before - I've always cut my fabric for the borders from the bolt.

Is this a tacky approach? Will it look awful if I do it this way? I plan to quilt it myself by either doing straight lines or stitching in the ditch. Any help any of you could give me would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Border for my quilt

I've done this and it worked out great - the 2 1/2 inch width is perfect - I viewed Jennie's tutorial on binding and this made it easier to do. Prayers are going to you and your dear sister - The quilt is such a special gift that you are giving her.

Comment

One thing a new quilter should learn: There are NO quilting police.

I am with EsGrandma - go for it. I'm also sending prayers.
      Sometimes, when there's a raging fire,
      it's best not to try to put it out with gasoline.

"...pal carajo con la negatividad..."

Comment

I have also used the 2 1/2 border in a similiar quilt This gives you the option to use up the extra material on the binding.
        My prayers are with your sister.
        Learn To Make Quilt Binding
        Unique Baby Quilt Boutique

Comment