Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mixing fabric types

Hi Everyone,
    I'm new to quilting and wondered if it's ok to put a flannel back on a quilt i'm making for my grandaughter. The top is regular regular 100% cotton quilting fabric, but I was thinking that the soft flannel might be a nice backing for her.
    Your thoughts?
    Thanks for your help.
    Winnie

Re: Mixing fabric types

Hi there Winnie and welcome.
    So glad you joined us.
    There are so many quilters here with much more experience than I; but I'll tell you from my experience ... a flannel backing works just fine with a cotton quilt top. I have made receiving blankets that are cotton tops and flannel backs and they turned out very pretty. I'm sure some of the other ladies will share their thoughts too. Have a great evening.....
    ~~ Hugs and Blessings,
    Mia

...quilters come with strings attached
    (boy aint that the darn truth !!)

Comment

Absolutely!! Flannel backing is wonderful no matter what typle top you have!!

We love pictures...so post away!!
      ~Mary
      As ye sew, so shall ye rip.

Comment

i love flannel for the back of a baby quilt.
        “What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world, is and remains immortal.”

― Albert Pine

Comment

PREWASH AND DRY the flannel before using it for a back of any quilt! Flannel shrinks in every direction!

It makes a lovely backing as well as a nice batting between two cotton layers. Perfect for a baby/toddler quilt.
          Be who you are and say what you feel
          because those who mind don't matter,
          and those who matter don't mind. - Dr. Seuss

http://www.toggpine.wordpress.com

Comment

Welcome from Vermont. I'm new too so I won't offer any advice except....Enjoy the Addiction!
            ;)Nancy

I got a sewing machine for my husband. Good trade, huh!?!

Comment