Newbie Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie Question

Hi Everyone I am a complete novice at quilting, and I found MSQC by watching videos on Youtube, and I absolutely LOVED the ones by MSQC. I have my heart set on making a Dresden Plate quilt. I have a question, and I know this is probably a very dumb question: What is the beautiful stitching called that I am seeing on quilts? It is swirley, and makes a beautiful quilt gorgeous! How do you do it? I have a pretty standard Singer sewing machine, it has several different stitches on it.

Sorry, like I said, I'm a Noob Thank you in advance for any help you can offer.

Re: Newbie Question

Welcome to the Forum, Panda. Your user name puts a smile on my face! To me, what you are describing sounds like the actual quilting after the pieces of the quilt are all put together. The quilting holds the sandwich (layers) together. On the home machines, I believe they call it FMQ (Free Motion Quilting). There are also Long Arm machines that quilt, too. I have done neither! (Too chicken) I bring my quilts to a professional who has a huge, very expensive Long Arm. I have tied some of the baby quilts. BUT...there are lots of experienced and skilled quilters on this forum that could help you so much. You are right, MSQC does great tutorials! This is an awesome Forum and you will learn a lot.
    Cynthia from NH

Comment

Thank you so much! It's good to know you can take it to someone else!

Comment

Welcome from Canada, Panda.

Doesn't it look awesome. I only hand quilt so I am not much use to you either. But welcome to the forum. There are so many talented people here that I am sure you will get an answer in no time.

Take care,
        Monique
        Blessed are the children of the piecemakers for they shall inherit the quilts!

Comment

Welcome Panda from New Hampshire! You're gonna love it here. LOTS of inspiration and great advice.