Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

minkee fabric

Hi everyone,
    I bought the Minkee Tween fabric in 10 or 11" squares and I'm having trouble working with it. As long as I sew two pieces together on the UN-stretchy side, I'm fine, but then I eventually have to sew on the stretchy side and it's all out of whack. Can I stabilize the stretchy side somehow? I used my even feed foot, but the fabric keeps getting caught up under the foot because of the fuzziness of the fabric. I'm frustrated!

Re: minkee fabric

Hi Maureen. I've never worked with this fabric before but have lots of experience sewing on lots of different fabrics. You could try using a temporary stabilizer to keep it from stretching--that might be the best answer. Good luck to you.
    When life throws you scraps, make a quilt! :icon_bigsmile:

Comment

Maureen I have never worked with the minkee fabric but as far as the bunching up under the foot try using a scrap of paper under the fabric when you begin to sew. The paper keeps it from getting pushed down in these feet dogs and after you get it stitched the paper will rip right off because it is perferated from the needle.Not sure what to do about the stretching.
      Hope this helps.
      Rhonda

Comment

Paper works for me too. also, are you using a walking foot? maybe decrease the pressure on fabric if you don't have one. minkee can be a bear but it is sooooo soft on a quilt!
        “What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world, is and remains immortal.”

― Albert Pine

Comment