FMQ on a machine

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

FMQ on a machine

Since I am new to this, here is something I can't seem to figure out. I have read in many another posts that when you use your machine to free motion quilt like meandering (I think that's the term rather than stippling which would be a tighter pattern), one should always start in the middle of the quilt so as not to have it pucker and allow for shifting. I understand that - it makes sense, but is that true when meandering too? Every time I try to eye the back of a meandered quilt, granted it is a hard pattern to follow with your eyes but it never shows that any are started towards the middle.

Re: FMQ on a machine

It is true with any pattern. Starting in the middle allows you to be able to work all the wrinkles out toward the edges.
    K is for Karen 😊​..................
    Cremation - My last hope for a smokin' hot body.

Before you speak,
    T - is it TRUE?
    H - is it HELPFUL?
    I - is it INSPIRING?
    N - is it NECESSARY?
    K - is it KIND?

Comment

As above, usually as with a bigger quilt you would only need to fit half under machine max. Guess on a smaller table runner/baby quilt you could start one side/corner and work across, 'smoothing' if necessary the fabric out.The point is not to work from both sides inwards. Good luck

Comment

[QUOTE=KerryA;507685]Since I am new to this, here is something I can't seem to figure out. I have read in many another posts that when you use your machine to free motion quilt like meandering (I think that's the term rather than stippling which would be a tighter pattern), one should always start in the middle of the quilt so as not to have it pucker and allow for shifting. I understand that - it makes sense, but is that true when meandering too? Every time I try to eye the back of a meandered quilt, granted it is a hard pattern to follow with your eyes but it never shows that any are started towards the middle.[/QUOTE