Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Want to recreate this diamond quilt

Hi again all!

I have another question for you geniuses! My mom has a quilt that was my grandmother's - it's a diamond pattern.

here's a link to a picture of the quilt I am talking about:
    http://www.pavoninestudios.com/diamond_quilt.jpg

If you read my other post you know that our quilts have to be put together in sections so that my mom can work on them by hand, without a hoop or frame. So my first question is, would it be possible to put a quilt like this together in rows/strips (as opposed to blocks), if I am super careful about the bias edges? Also, does anyone have any thoughts as to where I might find a pattern or some other tool (software perhaps? an app?) that would help me in the layout of it?

She really REALLY wants to recreate this pattern...and I want to help her make it happen!
    Attached Files

Re: Want to recreate this diamond quilt

i'm fairly new at this, but if you look up elenor burns she has a strip piecing method. i believe you would cut on a angle then you could make the diamonds in rows.look her up and search strip pieced diamonds. good luck.
    :icon_wave:Joan

Comment

If I'm not mistaken I think this type of quilt is put together in strips. I would think that if you construct it in sections of strips that your mom could manage, that would work. I would try to fit in as many row of strips as you think she can manage so you don't have so many sections to sew together at the end. You would need to make sure she doesn't quilt into the seams otherwise you won't be able to sew the sections together in the end. I would probably mark the seams for her with a wash-out fabric marker. Test your fabrics with it first to make sure the marker comes out.