Jean quilt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Jean quilt

So question for you experts. Would making a quilt out of old jeans be a project for a fairly new quilter or should I put it off till I have some more experience. Over the years I have collected jean legs when they wear out. I'm hoping I have enough. As well, would you suggest doing largest blocks I can get or should they be small? I assume I can mix colour jeans in as long as its all denim?
    Thanks! Diane

Re: Jean quilt

There was a really fun idea for a circle quilt made of jean fabric. I know I posted on the thread. I'll see if I can find it.
    🌺 Lorie

Comment

Be sure to use the correct needle for denim. I think that the larger blocks would be easier to deal with because of the thickness of denim but I have seen denim used in small blocks. You can mix the denim colors but I would suggest that there not be the stretch denim in the quilt as it can get wonky after it is washed and then it stretches back out.

I don't see why a fairly new quilter could not put a denim quilt together.

Comment

I couldn't find the thread, but this is pretty much the tute for it.
        Recycled Blue Jeans Quilt

If you google more images of denim circle quilt a lot of nice ones come up

Here's a good tool and tute.
        http://apassionatequilter.blogspot.c...ircle-rag.html
        Last edited by Hulamoon; March 29, 2014, 08:19 PM.
        🌺 Lorie

Comment

Jenny has a tutorial

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GiL6jyQETkg

Comment

I did rag quilts with flannel and blue jeans for my grandson and son 2 chrismas's ago, not too hard, but like they said use the right needle for jeans, it's really heavy.
            Quilts may come, and quilts may go, but the stitches stay the same.:icon_hi:

Comment

Schmetz makes a size 100/16 Jeans/denim needle.