Layer cake or Jelly roll?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Layer cake or Jelly roll?

Hello! I'm a quilt newbie but, I was wondering about something maybe you guys can help me with?

I found a line of fabric that I really like, but don't have a quilt pattern in mind or anything specific.

Would you choose to get a layer cake of the fabric line or the jelly roll? Which one do you find easiest to work with later down the road?

I am currently working on one of those fancy Jelly Roll Race quilts so I'm thinking I'll be up for something a bit more adventurous next!

Thank you!

Re: Layer cake or Jelly roll?

A layer cake and a jelly roll both contain about the same amount of fabric in yardage. That said, if the fabric you like has some larger prints in it, I would opt for the layer cake because it isn't cut up as much and the large scale prints don't get as lost. Plus, if you haven't done it yet, the Double Slice Layer cake pattern is an easy one to do and looks really impressive for how simple it is.
    K is for Karen 😊​..................
    Cremation - My last hope for a smokin' hot body.

Before you speak,
    T - is it TRUE?
    H - is it HELPFUL?
    I - is it INSPIRING?
    N - is it NECESSARY?
    K - is it KIND?

Comment

I would get the layer cake since you are already doing something with jelly rolls. You can always turn that into 4 charm packs as well if a pattern calls for that.

Also agree that the double slice layer cake is super cute and easy. I just finished a top earlier this week and LOVE it!
      Last edited by kmerfeld; March 28, 2014, 02:24 PM.

Comment

If it was something I really liked I'd get both! Lol. Welcome to the forum!!

Comment

Jelly roll race quilts work well without a border. If you get a layer cake, most of the patterns will need a border to finish it off. With that in mind, you might want to get 2 yards of one of the prints to go with your layer cake, if that's what you choose to buy this time.

Comment