Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Flannel and cotton together...yes or no?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Flannel and cotton together...yes or no?

I have a question...can I make a quilt top out of cotton and use a flannel layer cake for the back? I have never used flannel before but wanted to use the flannel as a backing for a warmer quilt...because the flannel is a layer cake I cannot wash it ahead of time. Is it possible to inter-mix flannel and cotton for a quilt top? Any help would be appreciated.

Re: Flannel and cotton together...yes or no?

Yes, flannel and cotton can be used together as long as the flannel is pre-shrunk. Cotton and flannel shrink at very different rates. It's not a good idea to try to pre-shrink a layercake. Yardage for the backing would make for a happier ending. When I use flannel as a backing I wash and dry it twice to eliminate most of the shrinkage.
    sigpicwww.whisperofrose.blogspot.com

Scottie Mom Barb

Comment

Anna, other members who have more experience than I will no doubt respond but I've learned from previous posts that flannel shrinks more than regular cotton so might cause you problems. That's what I love about this forum, there's always someone to help!

Comment

You could always serge the edges of the flannel layer cake - would take a while and use lots of thread, then wash the layer cake.

I did this with 2 fat quarter bundles - 30 total. I turned on the TV and set up my serger and spent an hour just serging the edges. Then I washed and dryed them. I did this for a flannel quilt for DH. I found some wonderful Moda marbled brown flannel - 6 yards - and serged the edges and washed it for the backing. Made a Window Paned Disappearing 9 Patch. It's very soft.

I agree with the others that flannel shrinks differently than plain cotton.
        Vonnie

Comment