really dumb question?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

really dumb question?

Okay, so although I've been quilting for two years I'm still woefully ignorant in lots of areas - that's the problem with doing so much solo, far from a good LQS (and half a continent from MSQC!).

So here goes... what is an HST? Saw this more than once in referring to patterns, I'm assuming it's a type of block?

When you say something is "scrappy", what do you mean? I've been assuming you mean lots of different fabrics.

Deb
    There's still time to change the road you're on - Led Zeppelin, "Stairway to Heaven"

Re: really dumb question?

These terms quilters come up with can be hard to understand!! HST means half square triangle and scrappy does mean a lot of different fabric. See, you are catching on!

Don't worry though.....we have a funny story on Mom. She has been quilting forever, and never asked anyone what WOF meant. (she said it as WOOF) Hahahahah, we still tease her about it. (it means 'width of fabric) Of course, if she didn't tell me I would be confused as heck also!

But, yeah any questions.....Please feel free to ask here! WE love newbies (I still consider myself one) and want to help you out anyway we can!!

Comment

Thanks!!
      There's still time to change the road you're on - Led Zeppelin, "Stairway to Heaven"

Comment

There are no dumb questions!!! if you have any others be sure to just post them....we all have to start somewhere....
        Michele

Comment

don't worry, I'll prob be asking a bunch of questions too as I am also fairly new and live hours away from any quilt shop, however I just met a woman at church that quilts and just bought herself a long arm quilting machine Her husband said they should have bought a car instead

Comment

Originally posted by Rosie
            I just met a woman at church that quilts and just bought herself a long arm quilting machine Her husband said they should have bought a car instead