Quilting Question - swirling (spinning) seams

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Quilting Question - swirling (spinning) seams

I'm still new to quilting, so I've never done the swirled/spinned seams, but I've been dying to ask someone - at the intersection of all those seams, where you pick out 2-3 stitches to be able to swirl the seams - that scares me! It looks like it would potentially create a hole at that intersection. How do you get that intersection seam to not unravel? Or am I overthinking it?

If it doesn't unravel - and because so many quilting experts use it, I have to believe that it doesn't - can anyone explain it to me?

Thanks!

Re: Quilting Question - swirling (spinning) seams

I do it all the time, where four seams intersect. I have never actually cut the seam threads, the corners just swirl open. I have never had any little holes form either.
    pat.

No rain....no rainbows!

sigpic

If you can't be nice.....BE QUIET!

Comment

I agree with Pat. I have never seen the need to snip the threads either...actually I've never found the threads TO snip. The seams just sort of swirl on their own. Eleanor Burns is big on the "snip and swirl" technique.
      Judy

Comment

Are you asking about the 4 corners coming together and you mush mush mush that Eleanor Burns does? Sometimes you don't need to pick those 2 or three threads...that's when everything just happens to be going in the right direction...It happens...sometimes...LOL.

You just pick a few threads in the seam allowance, Just enough to release it and allow it to lay flat. I think it doesn't develop into a hole because you go on to quilt it and it doesn't move. I think....I've often wondered the same question and it makes me a bit nervous to pick those little stitches out, but quilters more experienced than me say it's OK, then I assume it is OK..

Comment