Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Curved rows what am I doing wrong???

Hi everyone,

I am very new to sewing and quilting, but I do enjoy it and as funny as that may seem coming from a 27 year old male. Some of the surprised looks I get while shopping for fabric in my local fabric stores is quite amusing, but anyways to the point.

I have made two quilts so far and they have turned out good, but a problem I have been running into and while on my third quilt have started to run into as well is after I square my fabric up and I cut it to my desired width. After I unfold the fabric and start to make my secondary cuts. I have been noticing that from the fold line my fabric always have a slight bow in it on both ends from the fold line and it is frustrating not getting a square up block to work with attached is a picture/ diagram that will hopefully show what I am talking about. any help in getting a this minor problem fixed would be greatly appreciated. as I had to do a lot of trimming and squaring up on my last quilt top as a whole losing about 2-3 inches on either side. Now that I am working on my sons quilt and I got my half square triangles cut, but before it was too late I noticed my fabric was doing the same thing again and my blocks werent lining up as the should.

Here is the diagram i am talking about, cutting problem!.jpg
    I should note that I believe I am squaring up my fabric as I double check with another square to make sure everything is still lining up.

Once again any advice would be greatly appreciated
    thanks
    Tyson

Re: Curved rows what am I doing wrong???

Jenny mentioned something about this in one of her tutorials. Sorry but I do not know which one it was. Had to do with the fold not being even causing the bow.

Comment