Applique Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Applique Question

When you are making an applique piece., do you stitch on one piece at a time? In other words if you are making a flower,do you sew the leaf on, then sew petals of flower, then center? Can the flower leafs, petals then center be glued in place then sewn on later? Just need little advice here as I am just learning applique. Thanks for your help.

Re: Applique Question

yes they can all be applied at the same time, but when you stitch them down stitch the under items first if the are overlapping , like the stem of the flower and then the flower would stitch on top,

Comment

When I applique I fuse the whole picture down and I work from the "background. So in this piece

Mugrug summer swap 2013.jpg

the farthest back is the red on the chicken. Then the body, eggs, and grass. I work it like a land scape.

This is my way so I hope it helped a little

Idnanny said the same thing. Took to long to type. lol

Oh and sew down in the same order.
      Last edited by Hulamoon; March 17, 2014, 07:06 AM.
      🌺 Lorie

Comment

Originally posted by Hulamoon View Post
        When I applique I fuse the whole picture down and I work from the "background. So in this piece

[ATTACH=CONFIG]71092[/ATTACH]

the farthest back is the red on the chicken. Then the body, eggs, and grass. I work it like a land scape.

This is my way so I hope it helped a little

Idnanny said the same thing. Took to long to type. lol

Oh and sew down in the same order.
        Has anyone else noticed that Lorie keeps trying to tell us she likes chickens??????????

BTW I LOVE this design!!
        Sometimes, when there's a raging fire,
        it's best not to try to put it out with gasoline.

"...pal carajo con la negatividad..."

Comment