Add Border after Quilting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Add Border after Quilting

I am only a beginner quilter so please don't laugh at my question. I am going to be making a large 7' 6" by 7'6" quilt and I want to machine quilt it on my home machine. I have quilted both stippled and stitch in the ditch smaller quilts and although difficult pushing them through my machine (Janome 3160 QDC), I was able to do a fair job. As this is a much bigger quilt, I was wondering if I could firstly just quilt the main part (i.e. the pieced bits) and then add the sash and border after. This would cut down the amount of material I would have to push through the machine throat. I would want to quilt the border (I think). I have watched several tutorials on joining machine quilted blocks with sashing and think that it might work for a border. I would really love some help. This will be the first quilt that I have ever made for someone outside my family group so I am very nervous.

Re: Add Border after Quilting

I'm not sure that the borders would go on very good after the middle is quilted. I've never heard of anyone doing it but someone else may come here and give you better advice than I can. If you have a larger quilt, you can work on 1/4 of it at a time and just keep turning it, then there isn't too much bulk to work with. Also, if you roll your quilt on the right hand side, it will keep the bulkiness down a bit too.
    Cil
    A quilt is a blanket of love
    http://www.pinterest.com/cil3612/boards/
    http://www.creativelyhomemade.etsy.com/

Comment

It's a very good question... Marti Michel (? Sp) has an entire book called Machine Quilting in Sections, and craftsy.com has an entire course on how you can do just that. It makes quilting on your home sewing machine a lot more do-able. Let us know about your success!

Comment