FMQ vs SITD

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

FMQ vs SITD

I need to learn to quilt not tie my quilts. Where do you start FMQ or SITD? I've read that stitching in the ditch isn't as easy as it looks. I have no experience with either one. Where do you all suggest I start?

Re: FMQ vs SITD

The ditch is the first step. Once you get control over that, then try FMQing.

Comment

I'm going to tell you, stitch in the ditch is a pain in the posterior! I can FMQ, just kept practicing at it until I "got" it. Something I tried recently, that I think anyone could do is wavy line quilting. It was fast, easy and fun with the added plus of not having to worry about keeping anything straight or in a specific area. Some machines have a big serpentine stitch, mine doesn't, so I just wiggled and waved my quilt to make my wavy lines. You use a walking foot or the even feed if your machine has it.

K is for Karen 😊​..................
      Cremation - My last hope for a smokin' hot body.

Before you speak,
      T - is it TRUE?
      H - is it HELPFUL?
      I - is it INSPIRING?
      N - is it NECESSARY?
      K - is it KIND?

Comment

wow, that picture is big.
        K is for Karen 😊​..................
        Cremation - My last hope for a smokin' hot body.

Before you speak,
        T - is it TRUE?
        H - is it HELPFUL?
        I - is it INSPIRING?
        N - is it NECESSARY?
        K - is it KIND?

Comment

I like that Karen! I'm going to try that one.

Annie this site is cool to study how to use your walking foot. You can do a lot of things with it.

Petit Design Co: 31 Days of Walking Foot Quilting
          🌺 Lorie

Comment

I would suggest doing what Karen said. SITD is NOT easy. You are better of stitching next to the ditch than trying to stay in it. You can also quilt straight lines in a grid pattern. I think you need to try what is easiest for you, based on the size of your project.
            Blankets wrap you in warmth, quilts wrap you in love