Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Quilting Baptist Fan

Ladies,

When machine quilting a Baptist fan, do you use the walking foot or fmq it. Last night I did a swoon block with fmq and while I'm proud of it because it is my first would the lines be more uniform with the walking foot? Or do you think it would distort since it's not straight line?
    Can you tell I'm a newbie I was also stoked because I made my own template for drawing them out, but didn't have a fabric marker. The unfortunate part is my water soluable marker left marks. Since it was my first time I'm not letting it bother me.

: )april

Re: Quilting Baptist Fan

Hi April
    I have never done a Baptist fan on the machine but I would think it would be more uniform with a walking foot. I would LOVE to see how yours looks. The Baptist Fan is my favorite of all - how clever of you to make your own template.
    Blessings and good luck. I betcha others with more Machine Quilting experience will be chiming in here soon.
    Sewing mends the soul.
    sigpic

Do the math; count your blessings
    Laughing is good exercise. It's like jogging on the inside.

http://pinterest.com/vintageprims/boards/ Unless we are creating we are not fully alive
    ~ Madeleine L'Engle

Comment

I'm love the Baptist Fan too and am always on the lookout for a stencil. I made my own stencil too from that circle ruler and I taped off about 1/3 of it. ( I ran across this idea on a blog) I did burn it onto stencil paper, but i sure could use some practice. I just bought a roll of "preview" paper. That should be here this week. I haven't been too successful with anything else.

Anyways, I have tried my hand several times and I can only see me doing it FMQ, unless the fan is really huge. But for my taste, there is too much stopping and turning for me to use a walking foot.

I have searched and will keep searching for advice and tips and what ever I can find about the Baptist fan. appreciate everybody else's advice!