Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Please share your wisdom.....

Hi everyone....

I'm going to make a black and white star quilt.... using black and white prints for the stars and solid black for the background (with red cornerstones on the sashing).
    As I've said, I'm still struggling with wonky squares and no matter how hard I try .... most of them need a bit of 'squaring up'.

With the strip star block there isn't much (if any at all) room for squaring because the points come allllllmosssst to the edge of the background.

Do you know how to make the background a little bigger so if I need to square up a block I will still have a 1/4 inch seam allowance?

I would so appreciate your help...
    Thanks in advance....
    ~~ Hugs and Blessings,
    Mia

...quilters come with strings attached
    (boy aint that the darn truth !!)

Re: Please share your wisdom.....

I'm no expert, but sometimes what I do is square up making sure the point is in the bottom corner so I am taking from the inside piece. I hope you know what I mean. I don't cut the point end. Seems to work okay for me. May just be dumb luck! LOL
    Jo :icon_wave:

Comment

Mia I hope I can make this clear enough for you to understand, I'm not good drawing little pictures to add to posts but here goes.