Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does spray baste damage a sewing machine?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Does spray baste damage a sewing machine?

Hi,
    I'm fairly new to quilting and have a question about using spray baste. It takes me ages to baste by hand using pins and then hand basting so I thought I'd try spay baste. I'm making a 72 x 72 quilt for my son and his partner as a belated housewarming present. I saw a tutorial for using foam insulating boards and pining the fabric so that I could streach it out before spraying. The method worked great with a really smooth sanwich. I'm also using quilt as you go method, and made the quilt in 5 long strips. I spry basted them them qulted them.

The next day my sewing machine started making a really bad noise. I oiled it, as per the manual, but it still was squeaking something terribel. I then oiled it (sparingly) everywhere I saw a part moving. Still a terrible noise. (and its jumping stiches no matter how I adjust the tension)

My question is - could the spray baste have damaged it? I didnt spay anywhere near the machine but I may have been a bit over enthusiastic and used to much on my sanwiches. Could the machine be 'gummed up' inside because of it. If so what can I do?
    I had planned to upgrade it next month anyway(its an old Brother basic model) and so I have now ordered a new Husqvarna 100Q but am terrified to use spray baste in case thats what killed my Brother. The thought of adding the borders by hand basteing is horrible tho.

Re: Does spray baste damage a sewing machine?

I'd look at your needle. If things are going to gum up, the needle is one of the first places it will show up. Look up the needle shaft from the point. If you see a ring of adhesive stuck to the metal, then you may have a problem.