What to do?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What to do?

I bought coats transparent thread to quilt my quilt with. I am new at this I put the transparent in the top and regular in the bobbin it didn't work for me I am so disapointed. I had to use a zig zag stitch to do the stitch in the ditch on my first quilt it turned out ok. My second quilt is a log cabin I am not sure how the zig zag will look right on it. Does anyone have any ideas on this. I am at a stand still I don't know what to do.

quilt 006.jpg

Re: What to do?

For me, i would not use coats and clark thread on my quilts. You may want to try a better thread such as Superior, Isacord, and there are several others. Superior has a great clear thread that I have used on my quilts.

Of course, machines are different too so you would have to see what works best for yours.

I am sure some forum members more experienced in this will be by to help as well.
    Karen
    Life is short - Live everyday to the fullest

Comment

How did it not work? What is going wrong?

I agree with Karen about your thread brand. I use Superior and would never use any thread from Coats and Clark.
      Cyndi

“Have courage for the great sorrows of life and patience for the small ones; and when you have laboriously accomplished your daily task, go to sleep in peace. God is awake.” - Victor Hugo

Comment

I am a die hard Coats & Clark user and that is pretty much what I use 99% of the time. I have never had an issue with my quilts using Coats. Thread brands are all a personal choice. However, I do know that the transparent, invisible, monofilament threads are an animal of a different breed. If they are thick or stiff, it is not going to go well. There is a really nice one that I believe is made by Superior I believe. Some of the better ones are thinner and more flexible just like the thread that you use everyday.

Not all wounds are so obvious. Walk gently in the lives of others - Unknown Author