Need Help with basting spray PLS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need Help with basting spray PLS

This will be my first complete quilt (if I don't throw it out). I am just starting out quilting and I love it. I have watched can't tell you how many videos on quilting. My problem is that I used quilting spray (maybe too much) and my 90/14 or any quilting needle wouldn't go through the material and my machine woud just stop/jam. I couldnt even force the needle through with the wheel. It seemed like it was going to be soo easy! I took the pattern apart AGAIN! washed it and now it ready to go again. Any thoughts on quilting spray or what kind do i use? Yhank You, Debbie

Re: Need Help with basting spray PLS

I have only used basing spray once so far and it was for a hand tying. I'm thinking that you possibly used too much. I have been told that some basting sprays are more sewing machine friendly than others.

Comment

I only use the 505 basting spray and never have any of those issues with it. It sounds like you either used way too much or possibly used a spray adhesive not meant for fabrics. Other people have had good results with Dritz or Sullivan's.
      K is for Karen 😊​..................
      Cremation - My last hope for a smokin' hot body.

Before you speak,
      T - is it TRUE?
      H - is it HELPFUL?
      I - is it INSPIRING?
      N - is it NECESSARY?
      K - is it KIND?

Comment

Debbie, I use 505 basting spray and haven't had any problems.......it may be that you just used too much. Here is a link to someone using basting spray that might be helpful. You don't have to have a basting wall.......but the video has good info.

Free Motion Quilting, Beginner Tutorial 2 (of 4) "Spray Basting Wall" - YouTube

By the way.........welcome to the forum!
        "I'm putting together a list of 100 reasons why I am NOT relentless!" - Sue Heck, The Middle