Brother walking foot jumping, thumping

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brother walking foot jumping, thumping

I have a Brother NX650Q sewing machine. I'm overall very happy with it. I recently started quilting and decided to use my walking foot. I was almost finished the straight lines before I move onto FMQ, when the foot started jumping. It was very upsetting as it would jump out of the ditch when it slammed back down. After further investigation, took it apart and flipped a pin around (seemed to be worn) put it back together and tried it out. It worked for a short time and started the jumping again. I then brought it to my husband, (he can fix anything) he took it apart and showed me a part that was worn out. See picture. SAM_6930.jpg I can understand things wearing, like it maybe I had been using it for 5 years or so. But not for one quilt. I'm pretty sure it's a design flaw. I've ordered a different kind and hoping it will work. After researching, seems like it's a problem with Brother and Babylock owners.

Just previewed my post and you can't see in the picture really well. But there is a tiny washer that is almost worn in half. The part you are looking at is the fork thingy.
    sigpic

Re: Brother walking foot jumping, thumping

I gave a Brother 450Q and haven't seen that problem. I do have an issue with the screw that hold the foot on coming loose though. If you haven't had the machine that long, maybe you could call the company and get a free replacement?

When I attempt to FMQ I use the quilting (darning) foot. I didn't know you could use the walking foot.

Comment

How about making Brother aware of this. I'd say it's a design flaw and they should replace your foot. At the very least it might help them correct the problem.

Comment

Oops, I guess I worded that wrong. I don't use the walking foot for FMQ. I had only used the walking foot to secure the 3 layers together, straight stitching. Sorry for the confusion.