How do you keep steady pressure

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do you keep steady pressure

Hi all! This is my first time in this forum. I am a quilting/sewing newbie.This is my first attempt and I have only Jenny's tutorials as my guide. I am working on a nine patch baby quilt for my new grandson. I am having a really difficult time keeping steady pressure on my ruler and rotary cutter. I am noticing a lot of slippage and differences of up to almost ½ inch. I have recently sewn on the boarders (after watching Jenny's video pausing it, working on mine then unpausing and following along...) and because of a cutting mess up, (yet again) I have to go buy more fabric! FRUSTRATING! Any suggestions would be so very welcomed!

Dayna
    Dayna

Re: How do you keep steady pressure

There are many methods for preventing it, I have an O'Lipfa ruler for my long cuts. It has a lip edge that hangs off the mat for a perfect straight cut. Look on Amazon, they're not expensive, $15-$20. Or you might try the little sandpaper buttons from the quilting section or your LQS. I have them on every corner of my smaller rulers. They work great for me.
    "She who dies with the most fabric wins"

Ecclesiastes 9:10 "Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might, for in the realm of the dead, where you are going, there is neither working nor planning nor knowledge nor wisdom."

Julie
    :D

Comment

I was taught to lay my hand flat then raise up and apply pressure with my finger tips

Comment

Another option is to have your hand positioned so that some of your fingers are on the fabric on the non-cutting side of the ruler. I think there are multiple products that can go on the underside of your ruler to help hold it in place - sandpaper dots, other gel type dots and clear sticky sheets.

Welcome to the forum!
        Lisa

M*QC forum is full of the best people!

I'm not just buying fabric, I am supporting the economy...