Its like Rocket Science..SERIOUSLY!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Its like Rocket Science..SERIOUSLY!!!

Okay, so I dont have any friends or family that sew..I am the first! This means that unfortunately I am self taught, or self learning...either way! I dont have access to a class yet because I have two little ones Im home with all day!

I learned the hard way that precision is key when it comes to sewing and quilting! I think I am getting much better, but it takes forever for me to get my measurements right. I am praying that this is just because I am new! (not because I am HORRIBLE AT MATH!!)

I also cant sew a STRAIGHT 1/4" seam to save my life..SERIOUSLY. I wish I would've gotten a warning that sewing is comparable to rocket science! I bought the tape from q-tools and that hasnt helped either, My 1/4" mark lies between the feed dogs on my machine..so Im at a loss with what to do! Is this something that will come with practice? I am getting extremely disheartened with ripping out seams constantly and starting over! Its really making me want to quit!!

Any help or advice will be much appreciated!

Thanks-
    Kim
    My husband lets me have all the fabric I can hide

Re: Its like Rocket Science..SERIOUSLY!!!

Buy a quarter inch presser foot to help you guide the material.

Comment

Mostly it's practice! some people swear by a 1/4" foot, some have a little piece you bump the fabric up against. Others use a stack of post-its to guide them. but mostly it just takes practice. Other hints i've heard:

don't watch the needle, watch the fabric as you guide it to the needle.

find a speed your comfortable with and put a block or book under the edge of your foot control so you can't speed.
      Above all, don't get discouraged. many of us on here have been sewing for years and we still struggle with some things. we're all still learning.
      “What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world, is and remains immortal.”