Newbie looking for some help =-)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie looking for some help =-)

I am new to the sewing world. Had a machine that was my grandmothers passed down and it has developed a serious case of "Thread Typhoid" (the thread is catching and bunching for all ends). I am looking to send that one out to greener pastures and get a new machine. I have been doing tons of research and have settled on the Singer Quantum Stylist 9960
    Amazon Page for that Machine .
    I know it is a LOT more machine than I need now, but I don't want to have to upgrade anytime soon. It has a solid aluminum frame which I have come to see is SUPER important. It also comes with a lot of quilting feet and some other feet that will be helpful for mending clothes for my 2 boys, making clothes for my little girl, and making things for the house.

I am curious what your thoughts are on this machine. $250 is my upper limit so I know I have to give a little as Janome, Pfaff, and Viking will not be living in my home anytime soon =-)

Thanks for any and all input friends. I cant wait to finish my first project with my new machine.

Re: Newbie looking for some help =-)

Hi and welcome. I had to approve your post because you are a new user and you included a link. The forum automatically flags the post for it to be checked out. It's an anti-spam feature.

Now that everyone can see it, hopefully they will chime in with some information for you. Singer machines are not my cup of tea, unless they were made before 1950, but there are many people here that do use them.

In the meantime here is a link to a search for the machine you are talking about. There have been several discussions on the forum about this machine.
    http://forum.missouriquiltco.com/sea...earchid=857338
    Last edited by K. McEuen; June 24, 2013, 03:10 PM.
    K is for Karen 😊​ Albuquerque, NM..................
    Cremation - My last hope for a smokin' hot body.

Before you speak,