Backing fabric amounts curiosity

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Backing fabric amounts curiosity

Hello everyone. I think sometimes I am a little too analytical for my own good. I am very new to quilting, and I am soooo confused. I purchased a quilting magazine, and was reading the fabric amounts needed to make a certain quilt. One in particular, just using an example here, says the finished quilt size is 48" x 50-3/4", but the materials needed calls for 3 yards of a backing fabric. That is nine feet??? I understand the need for a larger backing of at least 4 inches to accommodate for uhh...well, not sure what it accommodates, but I know you need a bigger backing, but why does it call for that much fabric?
    I live in an RV, and have very limited space to work in. I use my bed as my "work table", and when I read things requiring 3 yards, I get a little intimidated because I don't have THAT much space!

Re: Backing fabric amounts curiosity

I am in no way a backing expert - but I'd say that you would need more than two yards but you would have to piece your backing - most fabrics come about 42 to 44 inches wide. Two yards would be 72 inches which would give you the 50 inches plus - say your 5 inches on both the top and the bottom, or a total of 60 inches - and the additional 12 inches, split the long way, would have to be pieced on one side to cover the back. but that would only give you about an inch overhang on each long side . . . shorting you if you were going to have it professionally quilted. I'd be the one to buy the 3 yards recommended and use the rest to make complimentary pillows or pillow cases.
    Sometimes, when there's a raging fire,
    it's best not to try to put it out with gasoline.

"...pal carajo con la negatividad..."

Comment