Thread question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thread question

While surfing thru posts I read a question regarding thread color - the answer prompted a question of my own. In quilting are you supposed to use only 100% cotton thread when doing your piecing, or is a poly blend ok? Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I am new to this.

Re: Thread question

People seem to have varying opinions on this. I've been told to use cotton because it will shrink at the same rate as the quilt top when you wash it but as far as I'm aware the thread shouldn't shrink at all. The lady at my LQS told me to only use 100% cotton but she also refuses to use anything other than 100% cotton fabrics too.

In my mind the tradition of quilts was to use up scraps of fabric to make a warm blanket when you couldn't afford to buy one. I've seen vintage quilts made out of everything from shirts, dresses and mattress ticking to old wedding dresses and even bits of sack cloth. So I really don't think it matters what you make it out of or sew it together with as long as you love it.

If you have poly blend to hand, go with it!
    Quilting through the dull times
    northstarquilting.blogspot.com

Comment

The main reason for 100% cotton thread when using 100% cotton fabric is that the poly thread is actually stronger than cotton, it doesn't break as easy. So when used in a quilt that is being used/washed/handled the poly thread can/will eventually wear through the cotton of the fabric. So it is about wear and tear on the quilt more so than shrinkage. This is a part of why I absolutely loathe the monofilament quilting thread but it and poly blend have their places in our lives so use what you have that is suitable. In the life of the average everyday, being used quilt it is not an issue but if you are making heirloom quilts it is worth considering.
      Lynn

"Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass....it's about learning to dance in the rain" Anonymous.

Comment