Building fabric stash

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Building fabric stash

What is a way to build my fabric stash? Not yards because I don't have room to store a ton of fabrics. I'm talking smaller pieces. I'm a beginner and don't really have a stash.

Re: Building fabric stash

Originally posted by sewsoft View Post
    What is a way to build my fabric stash? Not yards because I don't have room to store a ton of fabrics. I'm talking smaller pieces. I'm a beginner and don't really have a stash.
    Sewsoft to answer your question honestly: "Come shopping with me."

Probably 80% of my 'stash' has been acquired from three or four sources - remnants from fabric stores, grab bags at thrift stores, garage sales and/or estate sales, and on-line auction sites. I also hoard anything that someone else is discarding - like the 20+ yards of vegetable print cotton fabric my daughter has decided she no longer needs or wants - or the box of denim jeans legs cut-offs that my SIL brought me - or the boxes and boxes of drapery samples that I scrounged around for and only had to pay for shipping costs . . . and then occasionally, when I least expect it, I'll be in a fabric store looking for notions or accessories and will spot a truly tremendous piece of fabric that I just can't live without . . . and I will buy yardage simply because I love the look, the feel, the colors, the design - with no specific project in mind . . . I have some pieces that I know are OVER 20 years old and I still cherish them and hesitate to point wicked scissors at them.

True Confessions of a Fabric Nutcase
    Sometimes, when there's a raging fire,
    it's best not to try to put it out with gasoline.

"...pal carajo con la negatividad..."

Comment

Originally posted by Sandy Navas View Post
      Sewsoft to answer your question honestly: "Come shopping with me."

True Confessions of a Fabric Nutcase
      ROFLMBBO;