sergers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

sergers

Forgive a newbie with 2 questions in one day.

Do any of you serge your quilt tops? I inherited a very nice serger (Babylock Evolve). I has only been used once before my mother in law passed away. I have never used a serger before. I don't sew clothing very often. I mostly make quilts and bags. I thought about trading it in for a nicer sewing machine. When I called the dealer, they told me that I should really try to learn how to use it because I would probably love it, so I am signed up to take a class next week. However, since then, we were talking about quilting at church last week and several people told me you shouldn't serge a quilt top. These are very experienced quilters. Now, I'm wondering if the dealer was just trying to sell me classes to make more money and not have to deal with trading it in. I really don't know that many quilters, except those few women at church.

Re: sergers

I've never heard of serging on a quilt before either. You use a serger, I believe, for finishing a seam much nicer or for more reinforcement. Such as on a garment (look at your t'shirts and they have more than just a regular sewing stitch on them). Or they use sergers I believe on such things as pillowcases.
    I don't think that the quilt shop is trying to 'get your money for classes' - they are probably thinking that once you get into the hobby of quilting more, that perhaps you will be making things like bags and possibly clothing items that you could use a serger on and then you wouldn't have one to use if you traded it in.
    I personally am not into making clothes and have never have had the need for a serger. I do know though that there are lots of quilters out there that have one and love it. I'm sure they'll chime in here to tell you what they use theirs for.
    Hugs,
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/quiltsbytrish
    http://quiltdreaming.blogspot.com
    http://pinterest.com/TrishLapp