Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie here - no idea how to quilt this!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie here - no idea how to quilt this!

Hello. I am new to quilting. This pic is my second ever quilt top. The first was basic squares with 1/4" quilting. Then I moved on to this pattern but I am stumped as to how to quilt it. Simple stitch in the ditch wont give enough coverage. I have been practicing free motion quilting and I love it, but I get overwhelmed and sort of paralyzed when I look at this quilt. I would love to hear from experienced quilter as to how you would quilt this top. If I can get some ideas from pros, it would really help me make a decision. Maybe a mix of straight lines and some free motion? Wavy or straight vertical lines with a different pattern in the big squares? Thanks in advance, Lily 🤔

Hi, Lily ~ Welcome to the Forum from Colorado. No pic is showing.

Comment

• lily_99654
      lily_99654 commented
      Editing a comment
      Thank you. My sister lives in Grand Junction.

Welcome to the forum. You picture didn’t post...try again.
    sigpicwww.whisperofrose.blogspot.com

Scottie Mom Barb

Comment

Trying again.
      20210426_144517.jpg

Comment

Hi Lily, welcome from sunny Florida. It's a beautiful quilt!
        Katrina
        “Nothing can dim the light which shines from within.” Maya Angelou

Comment

• lily_99654
          lily_99654 commented
          Editing a comment
          Thank you! I love Florida!

that is lovely!! straight lines would be my guess but hopefully someone better will come in with more ideas! great photo.

Comment

• lily_99654
          lily_99654 commented
          Editing a comment
          Thank you!

Hello Lily and welcome to the forum! I hand quilt, so I’m so help…..just wanted to pop in and say welcome 🧵
        💫 Anita......Star lover❣️

Comment

• lily_99654
          lily_99654 commented
          Editing a comment
          Thank you, Anita!