Border Help please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Border Help please

Afternoon all. I need some help with the border on this quilt top. I purchased this as a kit, and the border fabric was included. I love the fabric. However, I’m not convinced it makes a good border for this quilt. This was a refreshed kit, so the fabric line is about 3 years old. Obtaining more fabric from the line is not probable.

Per the pattern, the border is cut WOF, 5” strip. ​ ​​I’m not sure how I feel about the border. It looks out of step with the quilt, and I don't like the wonky I got with the splicing.

I’d welcome all suggestions. FYI - skill wise, I'm a confident beginner so I'm limited to what I can pull off.

Sandy

IMG_2787.JPG

IMG_2786.JPG
    IMG_2788.JPG

I actually like the border. Color-wise it seems to be spot on and the bigger print gives the quilt some movement. I don't think the quilt would be as exciting if you went with one of the prints in the top. Beautiful piecing with all those points!
    Michele

to the world you may be one person, but to one person you may be the world...

Comment

• srgreene
      srgreene commented
      Editing a comment
      Thank you. Maybe I'm trying to be too matchy matchy.

I see what you mean and would not be inclined to keep the border fabric, either. The design of the fabric is large enough that I would be tempted to fussy-cut it so the design is consistent. Since the fabric is part of a kit, you probably don't haven enough to do that.

Comment

I like it!
      🌺 Lorie

Comment

I know you would have to reduce the size of your border but I think I would re-cut it lining up the print. I do like it with your top.

Comment

• srgreene
          srgreene commented
          Editing a comment
          Thanks. Narrower is one a possiblilty.

I tend to like it too. Such pretty fabric. I would go with it. looks good so far.

Comment