Fabric content

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fabric content

I am a true newbie--. I have a question about fabric I have a room full of fabric from all sorts of planned projects. My quilting instructor said I could only quilt with known 100% cotton fabric. Why? I have many, many stacks of poly blends. Why would they work?

As a beginner, be prepared to be given lots of advice on “your” quilt; however, if your quilt instructor gave that recommendation you should probably ask her to explain why she believes that. It is true that 100% cotton is a preferred fabric by most quilters but I have seen many quilts using poly blend and they were beautiful. I have a quilt made by my hubbies grandmother made of poly blend. Perhaps, her reasoning is two-fold.. 1). poly blends have a mind of their own and can often stretch and distort. Quilting is a bit on the precise side so joining blocks that lose shape or distort will be difficult and the end result not very pleasing. 2). You are a beginner....getting discouraged in the beginning can lead to giving up....so, use fabrics that allow you to gain confidence in cutting, 1/4” seam allowances mastering, working with bias etc....and that would be 100% cotton. Your quilt instructor’s comment “you can only quilt with...” is a misnomer. In truth, you can make a quilt with anything, mostly. Learn what you can from your instructor and trust her judgment...it’s cool that she is spending the time to teach you what she has learned in her own journey....She wants you to succeed; .however, as you continue in your craft you’ll learn there is more than one way to quilt. Good luck and hope this helps!
    Last edited by Teen; October 30, 2020, 06:32 PM.
    "You cannot do a kindness too soon, for you never know how soon it will be too late." - Ralph Waldo Emerson

Comment

• Caroline T.
      Caroline T. commented
      Editing a comment
      Very well said.