Walking Foot Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Walking Foot Question

Hi everyone! I am brand new to quilting and am struggling to find the right presser foot (is that the right word?) for a Walking Foot. I have a Singer 9410 and a walking foot that fits my machine. I’ve just finished my very first quilt and instantly noticed that I am way over the 1/4 inch mark that I was trying to do. The base of my walking foot is about 3/4 from edge to edge. Is there a walking foot with a smaller presser foot? And if so, where do I find it? Google has not been helpful because I don’t think I’m searching for the right things. Thank you in advance!
    - An excited but lost new quilter

A little confused ...a walking foot is normally used for quilting due to it handles lots of layers evenly. If you use it needing 1/4 inch you would have to use the markings on your needle plate. Usually walking feet are not interchangeable. What you might be looking for is a quarter inch foot. Pics might help to identify what your really needing.

Btw welcome from TX!!! This is a great forum!!

Comment

Hi there...you want to make sure the entire presser foot and all the feed dogs have good contact with the cloth for quilting with a walking foot. You can adjust the distance of your stitch from the edge of the quilt (or another line of stitching) by adjusting the needle position. Hope this helps!

Comment

We need to figure out exactly what you need. Which foot are you talking about walking foot or the seam guide foot. Walking feet are usually used to quilt with. the 1/4" foot is for sewing the pieces together leaving a consistent seam allowance (the stitching line from the edge of the fabric)

Foot.jpg
        Kathryn
        There are moments which mark your life, moments when you realize nothing will ever be the same. And time is divided into two parts, Before this and After this

Comment

Originally posted by Mdtrimble View Post